Lusaka City

Lusaka City

Lusaka city


Lusaka is the capital and largest city of Zambia. It is located in south central Zambia at 15°25′S 28°17′E, on a plateau at 1280 meters.

History of the City

Lusaka was founded in 1905 by European settlers at the site of a village named after the village headman Lusaaka. Due to its central location in the country in 1935 it replaced Livingstone as the capital of the British colony Northern Rhodesia. After the federation of Northern and Southern Rhodesia in 1953, it was a centre of the civil disobedience movement that led to the creation of the independent state of Zambia. In 1964 it became the capital of the newly independent Zambia.

The city centre lies around Cairo Road, around which lie the New City Market and Kamwala Market, a major shopping area and the Zintu Community Museum. Further east lies the government area around the Cathedral Hill and Ridgeway areas.


Lusaka City covers an area of 360 km2 with an estimated population of over 3,100,000 people.

Mayors of Lusaka City

John Chilambwe 1993–1994

Fisho Mwale 1994–1996

Gilbert R. Zimba Local Government Administrator – 1996–1999

Patricia Nawa

Patrick Kangwa

John Kabungo

Levy Mkandawire

Stephen Mposha

Christine Nakazwe

Stephen Chilatu

Robert Chikwelete

Daniel Chisenga –present

Transport system

Lusaka has modern means of transport that is city is home to Kenneth Kaunda International Airport, formerly known as Lusaka International Airport, Bus services to towns surrounding Lusaka, such as Siavonga and Chirundu and public transport in terms taxis and mini buses.

Attractions in Lusaka City

The following are major tourist attractions of Lusaka City

  • Lusaka National Museum
  • Kalimba Reptile Park
  • Nembo Scenic Park
  • Munda Wanga Environmental Park
  • Choma Museum and Crafts Project
  • Lilayi Game Ranch
  • Chaminuka Game Reserve
  • Pakati Sunday Market
  • Kabwata Cultural Village
  • Parays Game Ranch
  • Sunday Crafts Market
  • New Soweto Market
  • Chilenje House
  • Namwane Art Gallery