Tunisia Profile

Tunisia Profile

Tunisia is located in Northern Africa; it covers an area of 165,000 km2 and is the smallest country in the Maghreb region of North Africa. Tunisia is bordered by Algeria to the west, Libya to the southeast and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east.

The country has an estimated population of over 10.8 million with its capital city, Tunis located on the country’s northeast coast.

Tunisia contains the eastern end of the Atlas Mountains and the northern reaches of the Sahara desert. Much of the rest of the country’s land is fertile soil. Its 1,300 kilometres of coastline includes the African conjunction of the western and eastern parts of the Mediterranean Basin.

Tunisia has an association agreement with the European Union and is a member of La Francophonie, the Arab Maghreb Union, the Arab League and the African Union. Close relations with Europe in particular, with France have been forged through economic cooperation, privatisation and industrial modernization.

In 2011, a revolution resulted in the overthrow of the autocratic President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali followed by the country’s first free elections. Since then, Tunisia has been consolidating its young democracy.

General information about Tunisia has been summarized to include the following;

Economy of Tunisia

Membership of regional and international organizations

Population and Health of Tunisia

Transport System in Tunis



For more reading