Background and Geography of Sudan

Background and Geography of Sudan

The Republic of the Sudan and sometimes called North Sudan, is an Arab state in the Middle East and North Africa bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea

And Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central Africa Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west and Libya to the northwest.

Land Area in Sudan

Agriculture                       135,886 square kilometres

Forest                           663,677square kilometres

Water                              39,040 square kilometres

Desert                             281,537square kilometres

National Park               1,255,860 square kilometres

Total Land area             2,376,000square kilometres


The states of Sudan are subdivided into one hundred thirty three districts.


Sudan has ten mountains Mount Kirsin Tonga which is 2,799 meters is the highest and Mount Jebells is the smallest with 1,852metres

Longest River: White Nile

Largest Lake: Lake Nasser

National Parks

Sudan has got four major national parks namely; Radom which is the biggest with 1,250,970squarekilometres Dinder, Suakin and Lantoto being the smallest with 760squarekilometres.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts