South Sudan Cabinet

South Sudan Cabinet

The Republic of South Sudan (RSS) was established in 2011.The powers of the Government of the Republic of South Sudan originate from the will of the people of South Sudan, the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA), the Interim Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan and the Interim National Constitution.

On 31 July 2013, President Salva Kiir of South Sudan announced a new cabinet, following its dissolution on 23 July, 2013. The dissolution had included the dismissing of Vice-President Riek Machar and suspending the Secretary-General of the ruling SPLM Party, Pagan Amum Okiech. Below is a list of the newly appointed cabinet.

Cabinet Structure of the Republic of South Sudan (RSS)


H.E Lt. General Salva Kiir Mayardit


H.E Lt. James Wani Igga

23 August 2013-present



Name Position
Hon. Madam Rebecca Nyandeng De Mabior Advisor on Gender and Human Rights
Hon. Rtd Gen. Joseph Lagu Special Advisor
Hon. Telar Ring Deng Advisor on Legal Affairs
Hon. Tor Deng Mawien Advisor on Decentralization and Inter-Governmental Linkages
Mr Mark Lotende Lochapi Advisor on Religious Affairs
Mr Aggrey Tisa Sabuni Advisor on Economic Affairs

Ministerial Portfolios and Ministers  

Mr. Deng Alor Kuol Cabinet Affairs
Gen. John Kong Nyuon Defence and Veteran Affairs
Mr. Nhial Deng Nhial Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
Mr. Emmanuel Lowilla Office of the President
Gen. Oyay Deng Ajak National Security, Office of the President
Mr. John Luk Jok Justice
Gen. Alison Manani Magaya Interior
Mr. Michael Makuei Lueth Parliamentary Affairs
Kosti Manibe Ngai Finance and Economic Planning
Kwong Danhier Gatluak, Ag Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development
Dr. Michael Milly Hussein Health
Dr Barnaba Marial Benjamin Information and Broadcasting
Dr. Betty Achan Ogwaro Agriculture and Forestry
Mr. Gier Chuang Aluong Roads and Bridges
Ms. Agnes Poni Lokudu Transport
Ustaz Joseph Ukel Abango General Education and Instruction
Dr. Peter Adwok Nyaba Higher Education, Science and Technology
Mr. Garang Diing Akuang Commerce, Industry and Investment
Mr. Alfred Lado Gore Environment
Ms. Jemma Nunu Kumba Housing and Physical Planning
Mr.Madut Biar Yel Telecommunication and Postal Services
Mr. Stephen Dhieu Dau Petroleum and Mining
Mr. David Deng Athorbei Electricity and Dams
Ms. Agnes Lasuba Gender, Child and Social Welfare
Mr. Joseph Lual Acuil Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management
Mr. Paul Mayom Akec Water Resources and Irrigation
Mr. Gabriel Changson Wildlife Conservation and Tourism
Dr. Martin Elia Lomuro Animal Resources and Fisheries
Dr. Cirino Hiteng Ofuho Culture, Youth and Sports


Deputy Ministers

Mr. Wek Mamer Kuol Cabinet Affairs
31 Dr. Majak Agot Atem Defence and Veteran Affairs
Ms. Grace Daterio Foreign Affairs
Prof. Elias Nyamlel Wako International Cooperation
Mr. Paulino Wanawila Onango Justice
Mr. Salva Mathok Gengdit Interior
Mr. Marial Awou Finance
Ms. Mary Jervas Yak Finance
Mr. Kwong Danhier Gatluak Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development
Mr. Kengen Jakor Commerce, Industry and Investment
Mr. Atem Yak Atem Information and Broadcasting
Dr. Yatta Loli Lugar Health
Mr. Beda Machar Deng Agriculture and Forestry
Mr. Simon Majok Majak Roads and Bridges
Mr. Mayom Kuoc Malek Transport
Ms. Rebecca Joshua Okwaci General Education and Instruction
Ustaz Gabriel Kuc Abyei Higher Education, Science and Technology
Mr. Philip Palet Gadin Environment
Ms. Mary Nyawulang Housing and Physical Planning
Ms. Bettrice Khamisa Wani Telecommunication and Postal Services
Ms. Elizabeth James Bol Petroleum and Mining
Ms. Rhoda David Alak Electricity and Dams
Dr. Priscilla Nyanyang Joseph Gender, Child and Social Welfare
Ms.Sabina Dario Okolong Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management
Ms. Nadia Arop Dudi Animal Resources and Fisheries
Mr. Ali Keti Ochie Water Resources and Irrigation
Mr. Obuch Ojwok Wildlife Conservation and Tourism