President of Republic of South Sudan since independence

Following the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement formally ending the war in January 2005, Dr. John Garang was sworn in as the Vice President of the Republic of Sudan. After the death of Dr. John Garang in a helicopter crash on 30 July 2005, Kiir was chosen to succeed to the post of First Vice President of Sudan and President of Southern Sudan.
South Sudanese voted overwhelmingly in favour of independence from Sudan in January 2011, with 98.83% of voters reportedly preferring to split from the North.On 9 July 2011, South Sudan became an independent state, with Kiir as its first president.


Salva Kiir Mayardit

9 July 2011 to Present



Riek Machar Teny Dhurgon

July 2011-July 2013


23 August 2013-present

James Wani Igga