Juba City

Juba City


Juba City is the capital and largest city of the Republic of South Sudan. It also serves as the capital of Central Equatoria, the smallest of the ten states of South Sudan. The city is situated on the White Nile and functions as the seat and metropolis of Juba County. The city is located 3 kilometers from Juba international Airport. It is a river port on the west bank of the Baḥr Al-Jabal (Mountain Nile), about 140 kilometers south of Bor. It is also a highway hub, with roads radiating into Uganda, Kenya, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

History of the City

In the 19th century, a trading post and a mission were located in the vicinity of Juba called Gondokoro. It was the southernmost outpost of the Egyptian garrison, supported by a handful of soldiers, mostly ill due to the malaria and blackwater fever that was dominant in the region. Gondokoro was also the base of the explorer and campaigner Sir Samuel Baker during his expeditions to what is now Southern Sudan and northern Uganda from 1863 to 1865 and from 1871 to 1873.

From 1899 to 1956, Juba was in the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan which was jointly administered by the United Kingdom and Egypt. British hopes to join the southern part of Sudan with Uganda were dashed in 1947 by an agreement in Juba, also known as the Juba Conference, to unify northern and southern Sudan. In 1955, a mutiny of southern soldiers in Torit town sparked the First Sudanese Civil War, which did not end until 1972. During the Second Sudanese Civil War, Juba was a strategic location that was the focus of much fighting.

Civil war broke out again in 1983; a peace settlement was signed in 2005.

Under the settlement, Juba became the capital of autonomous South Sudan, and many former refugees subsequently crowded into the city and the surrounding area. In 2011, following a referendum on independence for the south, Juba became the capital of the Republic of South Sudan.


Juba is led by a city council headed by Mayor Mohammed El Haj Baballa. This council was formed in March 2011 and Baballa appointed to lead it by Governor Clement Wani Konga. Former Yei County Commissioner David Lokonga Moses was appointed as deputy mayor. A ministerial committee to keep Juba clean and sanitary was also created by gubernatorial decree at the same time.

Administrative divisions

Prior to March 2011, the area now administered by Juba City Council was divided into Juba, Kator, and Muniki payams. It is now a standalone subdivision of Juba County, of which it is the county seat.

Population of Juba

The estimated t population of Juba as of July 2012 was 372,410.

Means of transport

Juba is served by buses, minibuses, taxis and motorcycles as the common means of public transport.


Juba has a tropical wet and dry climate and as it lies near the equator, temperatures are hot year-round.However, little rain falls from November to March, which is also the time of the year with the hottest maximum temperatures, reaching 38 °C in February. From April to October, upwards of 100 millimeters rain falls per month with annual total precipitation of 1,000 millimeters.