Background and Geography of South Sudan

Background and Geography of South Sudan

The Republic of South Sudan is a landlocked country in east-central Africa.

South Sudan is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west and the Republic of Sudan to the north.

Land Area in South Sudan

Agriculture                  27,712 square kilometres

Water                          2,732 square kilometres

Other land                   613,885 square kilometres

Total Land area           644,329 square kilometres


South Sudan is divided into ten states with Jonglei being the largest covering an area of 122,581 square kilometers, followed by Eastern Equatoria covering an area of 82,542 square kilometers. Unity state is the smallest state covering an area of 35,956 square kilometers.


South Sudan has peaks with Mount Kinyeti being the highest peak at 3,187meters.

Longest Rivers:  The Nile River

Largest Lake: Lake Ambadi

National Parks: South Sudan has five national Parks with Boma National Parks being one of the largest covering an area of 22,800 square kilometers.


About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *