Background and Geography of South Africa

Background and Geography of South Africa

South Africa is located at the southern tip of Africa. It is bordered by Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabweto north, Mozambique and Swaziland in east while within it lies Lesotho, an enclave surrounded by South African territory.

Land Area

Agricultural land             993780 square kilometres

Forest                              92030 square kilometres

Water                            6567 square kilometres

Desert                           900,000 Square kilometres

National Park              37,000 Square kilometres

Total Land area           1,221,037 square kilometres


South Africa is divided into 52 district municipalities, Namakwa District Municipality with 126,747 square kilometres.


South Africa has about 50 mountains with Mount Thabana Ntlenyana which is 3482 meters is the highest and Van Zinderen Bakker Peak which is the smallest with 672 meters

Longest River: Orange River

Largest Lake: Lake Chrissie

National Parks

South Africa has got twenty National Parks with Kruger National Park (19,633 square kilo meters) being the biggest.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: