Background and geography of Senegal

Background and geography of Senegal

Republic of Senegal is a country in West Africa bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea and Guinea- Bissau to the south. Senegal almost completely surrounds the Gambia, namely on the north, east and south.

Land Area in Senegal

Agriculture                     86,380square kilometres

Forest                           85832square kilometres

Water                             4, 190square kilometres

Desert                             12449.2   square kilometres

National Park                 7,868.8square kilometres

Total Land area             196,720square kilometres


Senegal is subdivided into 14 regions with Tambacounda of 42,706square kilometres being the largest and Dakar with 550 square kilometers being the smallest.


Senegal has ten mountains Mount Sambaya (395meters) is the highest and Mount Niamako (106 metres) is the shortest.

Longest River: Senegal River (1,790 square kilometres)

Largest Lake: Lake Retba

National Parks

Senegal has six major national parks; Niokolo Koba National Park with 9,113 square kilometres is the largest and Madeleine Islands National Park being the smallest with 45 square kilometres

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

Leave a Reply