Abuja City

Abuja City


Abuja City is located in the centre of Nigeria and was built in the 1980s. Since it was made the capital in 1991, then it has remained the country’s most populous city and this is mainly attributed to its structures, location and the city being well planned.


Abuja was built in 1980,s and it became officially became Nigeria’s capital on 12 December 1991, replacing Lagos. The site where Abuja is located was chosen because of its central location, easy accessibility, good climate, low population density and the availability of land for future expansion. It was the first planned city to be built in Nigeria.

Mayors (Ministers)

The following are the mayors of Abuja since 1976 to present;

Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun 1976–1979
John Jatau Kadiya, 1979–1982
Iro Abubakar Dan Musa, 1982–1983
Haliru Dantoro, 1983–1984
Mamman Jiya Vatsa, 1984 – December 1985
Hamza Abdullahi, 1986–1989
Gado Nasko, 1989–1993
Jeremiah Timbut Useni, 1993–1998
Mamman Kontagora, 1998–1999
Ibrahim Bunu, 1999–2001
Mohammed Abba Gana, 2001–2003
Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai, 2003 – May 2007
Aliyu Modibo, 2007–2008
Adamu Aliero, 2008–2010
Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed, 2010–present


Abuja is the largest city and had a population of 1,568,853 people in 2013. The metro population is expected to reach 3,358,000 million by 2025


Abuja is served by Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, buses and private cars are mainly used as means of transport within the city and motorcycles (Okada) are also commonly used for easy reach by the passengers.

The key highlights of Abuja City include the following;

Abuja MuseumsAbuja Live Theatres
Abuja Cinemas
Apartments in Abuja
Art, craft & gift shops Abuja
Casinos in Abuja
Health Clubs in Abuja City
Markets in Abuja City
Night Clubs in Abuja
Nyama Choma Places in Abuja
Prayer places in Abuja
Pubs in Abuja
Shopping Malls in Abuja
Sports Clubs in Abuja City
Restaurants in Abuja