Port Louis City

Port Louis City

port louis


Port Louis is a city in Mauritius, located in the Port Louis District; the western part also lies in the Rivière Noire District. It is the capital of Mauritius and administered by the Municipal City Council of Port Louis. The city is the country’s economic, cultural, political centre and most populous city.

History of the City

Port Louis was already in use as a harbor in 1638. In 1735, under French government, it became the administrative center of Mauritius and a major reprovisioning halt for French ships during their passage between Asia and Europe, around the Cape of Good Hope. The Port is named in honour of King Louis XV. During this period of French colonization, Mauritius was known as Ile de France. The French governor at that time, Bertrand-François Mahé de Labourdonnais, contributed to the development of the city.


Port Louis City covers an area of 46.7 km2 with an estimated population of over 148,001 people.

Governance of Port Louis

Local governance of Port Louis is overseen by a municipal council. The City Council of Port Louis was first established in 1830 and is currently one of five municipal councils responsible for the urban areas in Mauritius, as organized under Local Government Act 2011. Twenty-four councillors are elected democratically to administer the council. Councillors then elect a Lord Mayor and a Deputy Lord Mayor.

The functions of the council are performed through Departments of Administration, Finance, Land Use and Planning, Public Infrastructure, Public Health, Welfare, Parks and Gardens and City Library.


Lord Mayor:

Aslam Adam Hossenally

Deputy Lord Mayor:

Mrs. Marie Christiane Dorine Chukowry

Transport system

Air transportation to the city is provided by SSR International Airport. Port Louis is served by two major bus stations. Victoria Station is used by buses to and from the eastern and southern areas and the Plaines Wilhems district.

Attractions in Port Louis

The following are major tourist attractions of Port Louis City

  • The Crown Lodge
  • Port Louis Race track
  • Champs de Mars
  • Blue Penny Museum
  • Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolan Botanic Garden
  • Government House
  • Le Pouce
  • Citadel Fort Adelaide
  • Jummah Mosque
  • The Photographic Museum
  • Natural History Museum

For more reading