Background and Geography of Mauritius

Background and Geography of Mauritius

View Mauritius Main Features in a larger map

Mauritius is an island nation of volcanic origin in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometers off the southeast coast of the African continent, north of the Tropic of Capricorn. The Republic of Mauritius also includes the barely populated Agalega Islands and the Cargados Carajos Shoals, as well as Rodrigues.

Land Area of Mauritius

Agriculture:                   890 Square kilometers

Forest :                          350 Square kilometers

Water:                           10 Square kilometers

National Parks:            67.54 Square kilometers

Total Land area:         2,040 Square kilometers


Mauritius is divided into nine districts which consist of 2 cities, 4 towns and 130 villages.

Mount Piton de la Petite Rivière Noire, located in the Black River district is the tallest mountain in Mauritius standing 827 meters tall.

Longest River: The longest river of Mauritius is Grand River. It is located central-eastern region of the country and measures 40 kilometres.

National Parks: Black River Gorges National Park is the only national park in Mauritius. It is 67.54 Square kilometers and is located in the hilly south-western part of the country.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

Leave a Reply