fortune-of-africa-countries-air-flightkenya banner
International Trade Agreements of Kenya

International Trade Agreements of Kenya

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Current Signatories are Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea,Ethiopia,Kenya,Libya,Madagascar,Malawi,Mauritius,Rwanda,Seychelles,Sudan,Swaziland,Uganda,Zambia, Zimbabwe[i].


Trade & Investment Framework Agreement (2001)[ii]

Africa Free Trade Zone

Current Signatories: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Swaziland, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

East African Community

Current signatories are Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania

The Community was formerly established on November 30, 1999 through signatures of Heads of State and Governments of the three countries. These advantages provide the Partner States with a unique framework for regional co-operation and integration.[iii]

African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)

Kenya – USA

Kenya qualifies for duty free access to the United States of America (USA) market under the African Growth and Opportunity Act enacted by USA. Kenya’s major products that qualify for export under AGOA include textiles, apparels, handicrafts.

Kenya’s Bilateral Trade Agreements are with the following countries

  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bulgaria
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo(DRC)
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Somalia
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe