Guinea Profile

Guinea Profile


Guinea is a country in West Africa formerly known as French Guinea covering 246,000 km2; it is bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Mali, Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia and Sierra Leone. It is today sometimes called Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from its neighbour Guinea-Bissau and the Republic of Equatorial Guinea.

Guinea declared its independence from France on 2 October 1958. From independence until the presidential election of 2010, Guinea was governed by a number of autocratic rulers.


The population of Guinea is estimated at 10.2 million. Conakry the capital and largest city is the hub of Guinea’s economy, commerce, education and culture.


Guinea’s economy is largely dependent on agriculture and mineral production. It is the world’s second largest producer of bauxite and has rich deposits of diamonds and gold. The country has great potential for hydroelectric power.


The official language of Guinea is French. Other significant languages spoken are Pular, Maninka, Susu, Kissi, Kpelle and Loma.

Religious beliefs 

Guinea is a predominantly Islamic country with Muslims representing 85 percent of the population while 8% is Christian and 7% holds traditional animist beliefs.


The coastal region of Guinea and most of the inland have a tropical climate with a monsoonal-type rainy season lasting from April to November, relatively high and uniform temperatures, southwesterly winds and high humidity. Conakry’s year-round average high is 29 °C (84.2 °F), and the low is 23 °C (73.4 °F)

General information about Guinea has been summarized to include the following;

Background and Geography of Guinea
Economy of Guinea
Membership of regional and international organisations
Population and Health of Guinea
Transport system in Conakry Guinea
Vision of Guinea 2050