Background and Geography of Gabon

Background and Geography of Gabon

Gabon is located in west coast of Central Africa, bordered by Equatorial Guinea to the northwest, Cameroon to the north, the Republic of the Congo on the east and south and the Gulf of Guinea to the west.

Land area of Gabon

Agriculture 51,600 square kilometres
Forest 217,546 square kilometres
Water 10,000 square kilometres
Arable land 3 250 square kilometres
Permanent crops 1 700 square kilometres
Pastures 46 650 square kilometres
Total Land Area: 257,670 square kilometres

There are nine provinces in Gabon. Woleu Ntem with 38,465 square kilometres is the largest province. Estuaire Province with an area of 20,740 square kilometres is the smallest province

Mountains:Gabon has over ten mountains. Mont Bengoué which is 1,070 meters is the highest mountain in Gabon

Longest River: Ogoove River (1,100 kilometres)

Largest Lake: Lake Ogoouér (1,200 square kilometres)

National Parks: Gabon has 13 national Parks with Minkébé National Park National Park being the biggest covering 7,570 square kilometres

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *