Breaking News

Double taxation treaties in Egypt

Double taxation treaties in Egypt

Egypt concluded treaties for the prevention of double taxation with a number of countries, including:

  • Austria
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Libya
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Sudan
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States.

Draft treaties which have not yet been ratified were concluded with ;

  • Indonesia
  • Korea
  • Malaysia
  • Morocco

It is notable that since Egypt does not levy withholding tax on dividends its tax treaties provide reduced withholding tax rates only for interest and royalties.

In the absence of a tax treaty, unilateral tax relief is available by way of deduction rather than by a tax credit. A taxpayer who derives foreign-source income which is subject to foreign as well as to Egyptian taxes is be allowed to deduct the amount of foreign tax paid in order to compute the taxpayer’s taxable income for Egyptian tax purposes.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts