Background and Geography of Democratic Republic of Congo

Background and Geography of Democratic Republic of Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo, Congo-Kinshasa or the DRC) is a country located in Central Africa.
It borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi in the east; Zambia and Angola to the south; the Republic of the Congo, the Angolan exclave of Cabinda, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west; and is separated from Tanzania by Lake Tanganyika in the east.

Land Area in Democratic Republic of the Congo
Agriculture 226,500 square kilometres
Forest 1,329,707 square kilometres
Water 77,808 square kilometres
Other land 710,843 square kilometres
Total Land area 2,344,858 square kilometres

The DRC is divided into ten provinces and one city-province. The provinces are subdivided into districts which are divided into territories.
Orientale province is the largest province covering 503,239 square kilometres, followed by Katanga province covering an area of 496,871 square kilometres and Kinshasha (city province) is the smallest province covering an area of 9,965

The DRC has ten mountains with Mount Stanley located in Rwenzori range being the highest at 5,109meters

Longest River: Congo River

Largest Lake: Lake Tanganyika

National Parks: DRC has eight national Parks with Salonga National Park being the biggest covering 36,000 square kilometres, followed by Okapi National Park covering an area of 13,726.25 square kilometres and Garamba National Park covering 4,920 square kilometres.


About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts