Republic of Congo Profile

Republic of Congo Profile


The Republic of the Congo is a country located in Central Africa. It is bordered by Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Angolan exclave of Cabinda.

The region was dominated by Bantu-speaking tribes, who built trade links leading into the Congo River basin. Congo-Brazzaville was formerly part of the French colony of Equatorial Africa. Upon independence in 1960, the former colony of French Congo became the Republic of the Congo.


Republic of the Congo has an estimated population of over 4,492,689 people.


The Congo’s economy is based primarily on its petroleum sector, which is by far the country’s greatest revenue earner. The country’s abundant northern rain forests are a major source of timber.


The official language of the Republic of Congo is French. Other languages are mainly Bantu languages and the two national languages in the country are Kituba and Lingala

Religious beliefs 

Christianity is the largest religion in Republic of the Congo accounting for 50% of the total population. Other religions include Traditional African religion and Islam.

Biodiversity Hotspot

The Republic of the Congo also harbours a number of endemic species like the okapi, Grauer’s gorilla, bonobo, and the Congo peacock.


Republic of the Congo has Tropical hot and humid climate; cooler and drier in southern highlands.

General information about Republic of Congo has been summarized to include the following

Background and Geography of Republic of Congo

Economy of Republic of Congo

Membership of regional and International Organizations

Population and Health of Republic of Congo

Transport system in Brazzaville City in Republic of Congo

Vision of Republic of Congo 2025

For more reading