Background and Geography of Benin

Background and Geography of Benin

The Republic of Benin is located on the west coast of Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, by Nigeria to the east and by Burkina Faso and Niger to the north and the Bight of Benin to the south.

Land Area in Benin

Agriculture                33,400 square kilometres

Forest                         22,214 square kilometres

Water                         2000 square kilometres

Other land                 530006 Square kilometres

Total Land area         110,620 square kilometres


Benin is divided into 12 departments and subdivided into 77 communes with Alibori as the largest and northernmost department of Benin covering an area of 25,683 square kilometres, followed by Borgou covering an area of 25,310 square kilometres and Littoral is the smallest department covering 79 square kilometres


Benin has ten mountain peaks with Mount Sokbaro being the highest at 658 meters.

Longest River:  River Oueme

Largest Lake: Lake Nokoue

National Parks: Benin has two national Parks with Pendjari National Park being the biggest

About The Author

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: