Background and Geography of Algeria

The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria

The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is a country in North Africa on the Mediterranean coast.

Algeria is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea, Morocco and Western Sahara to the west, Mauritania,

Mali, and Niger to the south, and Libya and Tunisia to the east.

Land Area in Algeria

Agriculture:           412,520 square kilometres

Forest:                      23,299 square kilometres

Desert :                     920,000 Square kilometres

National Park:        452,000 Square kilometres

Total Land area:     2,381,740 Square kilometres

There are forty eight provinces in Algeria.

Tamanrasset (Tamanghasset) is the largest province in Algeria covering 556,200 square kilometres,

followed by Adrar province in southwestern Algeria with an area of 424,948 square kilometres. Annaba the smallest province in north east Algeria covering1,439 km2

Algeria has twelve mountains, with Mount Tahat being the highest at 3,003 meters.

Longest River: Chelif River

Largest Lake: Lake Chott Melrhir (6,700 square kilometres)

National Parks: Algeria has Ten national Parks with Ahaggar National Park being the biggest with an area of approximately 450,000 square kilometres in the Saharan Algeria region.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts