Rubaga Cathedral

St Mary’s Cathedral (Rubaga Cathedral), a Roman Catholic Church, is located on Rubaga Hill about 5 Kilometers from the City center.  Rubaga Hill was formerly a palace of King Mutesa I and was donated to Bishop Hirth by his successor King Mwanga in 1889. The construction started in 1914 and the completed Cathedral was consecrated in 1925.

The Cathedral houses the remains of the first African Catholic Bishop and the first African Archbishop of Kampala Diocese, the late Archbishop Joseph Kiwanuka.

Leadership of Rubaga cathedral
Rubaga Cathedral has had the following Archbishops since 1953:

  • Archbishop Louis Joseph Cabana of 1953-1960,
  • Archbishop Joseph Kiwanuka of 1960-1966 first native African to be ordained a Catholic bishop,
  • Cardinal Emmanuel Nsubuga of 1966-1990,
  • Cardinal Emmanuel Wamala 1990-2006 and
  • Archbishop Cyprian Lwanga from 2006 to date.
  • Archbishop Cyprian Kizito Lyanga

Archbishop Cyprian Kizito Lyanga

Archbishop Cyprian Kizito Lyanga

Sunday Masses at Rubanga
Luganda Mass    7.00a.m, English Mass 9.00a.m, General Masses 10.00a.m and 5.00p.m