Dar es Salaam


Dar es Salaam City which is located along the coast of Indian Ocean is the commercial centre of Tanzania. It is linked to the interior of the country and other urban centres along the coast by both road and train network.


Dar es Salaam continued to serve as its capital, even when in 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged to form Tanzania. In 1973, however, provisions were made to relocate the capital to Dodoma a more centrally located city in Tanzania’s interior. The relocation process has not yet been completed and Dar es Salaam remains Tanzania’s primary city.


The following are the mayors of Dar es Salaam since 1924 to present;

1924–1964                  Amir Abedi

1959 and 1960            Manilal Mathuradas Devani

1952 and 1956            Abdulkarim Karimjee

2000–2005                  Kleist Sykes

2006–2010                  Adam Kimbisa

2010–present               Didas Massaburi


Dar es Salaam is the largest city and had a population of 3 million people in 2011. The metro population is expected to reach 5.12 million by 2020


The Tazara Railway and road network connect Dar es Salaam to the neighbouring country of Zambia and the interior of the country. Dala dalas are used by the majority of the population of Dar es Salaam.

Contact Us