Background and Geography of Namibia

View Namibia Main features in a larger map

Namibia is located in south of Africa. It is bordered by South Africa to the south and southeast, Botswana and Zimbabwe on the east, Angola on the north and the South Atlantic Ocean on the west

Land area of Namibia

Agriculture: 396,130 square kilometres

Forest: 75,122 square kilometres

Water: 1,000 square kilometres

National parks: 351,038 square kilometres

Total land area: 823,290 square kilometres


There are 13 regions in Namibia, Karas Region is the biggest region covering a total area of 161,514 square kilometres and Oshana Region is the smallest region covering an area of 8,647 square kilometres.


Namibia has 7 mountains with highest being mount Brandberg standing at 2,573 meters.

Longest River: Cunene is the longest river covering an area of 1,050 kilometres

Largest Lake: Lake Guinas (0.66 ha)

National Parks

Namibia has 11 national parks. Namib-Naukluft National Park is the largest national park in Namibia covering an area of 49,768 square kilometres.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: