Background and Geography of Republic of Congo | Fortune of Africa Congo Brazzaville

Background and Geography of Republic of Congo

The Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville) is a country located in central-western part of sub-Saharan Africa, along the Equator. It is bordered by Gabon to the west, Cameroon and the Central African Republic to the north, and Cabinda (Angola) to the southwest. It has a short coast on the Atlantic Ocean.

Land Area in Republic of Congo

Agriculture                105,450 square kilometres

Forest                         224,373 square kilometres

Water                         500 square kilometres

Other land                 11,677 square kilometres Total

Land area                  342,000 square kilometres


Republic of Congo is divided into 86 districts and 6 communes which are under 12 administrative divisions.

Mountains: Republic of Congo has mountains and peaks with Mount Nabeba being the highest at 1,020 meters.

Longest River: Congo River Largest Lake: Lake Tanganyika

National Parks: Republic of Congo has five national Parks with Conkouati-Douli National Park being the largest covering an area of approximately 5,049.5 square kilometres.

About The Author

John Muhaise-Bikalemesa (JMB), is the founder of blog and company. Learn more about him here and connect with him on his social medias below

Related posts